Un-BEAR-ably Cute

14 Oct

How could I resist. So, the request from the customer was royal blue and gold for her Teddy Bear themed baby shower. The cake is 14″ red velvet and frosting covered. The only fondant on that is the “pillow” up top which is chocolate cake covered in fondant and gold teddy bear cutouts and the actually teddy sitting on top of the pillow. It was my hope to make a teddy bear out of cake, but the humidity in NY that weekend was killing my cake sculpture and the fondant around it. Unlike other bakers, I want my cake to taste good, so I use an awesome recipe which was just too soft and moist to hold up against the weather and the shape. A real chef will always choose TASTE over aesthetics. That’s what I truly believe.

The cupcakes are chocolate and vanilla with fondant teddy bear cutouts. The gold cutouts are brushed with gold dust.

The cake pops are also chocolate and vanilla. There was a royal blue one that I neglected to take a picture of. But, because I don’t make gold chocolate (the dust will only get everywhere and taste not-so-great) the customer opted for yellow, which I thought made a much cuter cake pop.

20151003_132043

20151003_131024

20151003_130736

Leave a Reply

