Shirt Cake–WAIT! That’s a CAKE?!

17 Dec

Yes! I fooled many people with this cake. I had it on my desk at the day job while I finished writing the words. And several double-takes were taken! Another one of those cakes that make me feel like an accomplished cake momma!

So, this is a two-layer chocolate cake with a chocolate ganache frosting.  I didn’t want to make it too high or it would ruin the effect. Just to be clear, I did flip that tie up so everyone could see that those buttons went all the way up to the top! It’s all in the details, baby!

On a more personal note, this cake (and the cupcakes that came along with it) was an honor to do today. It was for the retirement party of one of the day job’s higher-ups, but more importantly, one of Queenie Cakes’ most creative customers! I have baked many cakes for this man’s family: Gift Box & Roses, Prost! The Beer Cake, Gray Elephant Cookies, Let’s Go Yankees,  and the Easter Eggs & Flowers . Not to mention all the cakes I didn’t have time to snap pics of. The cakes I have baked for them share lots of space on this blog and have shared plenty of space on his family’s tables. Thank you, John! I hope you enjoy your well-earned retirement!

 

2013-12-17 12.31.51

 

 

2013-12-17 12.31.23

3 Responses to “Shirt Cake–WAIT! That’s a CAKE?!”

  1. Shanita Lawrence December 17, 2013 at 11:32 PM #

    Adorable! The fact that you can move the tie around is ingenious.

    • Chef Queenie December 17, 2013 at 11:33 PM #

      LOL…I spent a lot of time on those buttons! I wanted to make sure people noticed them! =)

  2. Allie December 25, 2013 at 4:25 AM #

    Wow, amazing weblog. And Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

